Month: September 2008

  • An Update, of sorts

    • First of all, a prayer request:  I woke up with a jaw that doesn’t work.  I can barely open my mouth and am in moderate pain.   I have had previous problems with this, but not of this magnitude.  I called my dentist this morning and they fit me in.  I am now on a muscle relaxer and anti-inflammatory, and we just wait to see what happens. 
    • I am feeling very blog uninspired right now.  I have been posting only about once a week because I don’t want to bore you with the every day goings on of my life, but I really don’t have anything else inspiring to say.
    • Having said that, we’re very busy around the house right now.  We are busily painting our enclosed porch room.  We don’t think it has been painted in about 20 years or so.  It is very labor-intensive because we are painting over natural wood with slats in it (I’m not quite sure how to describe it.)  Anyway, it has been a lot of hand-painting, and it has been taking a lot of time.  We have to get the painting finished by tonight because the rest of our new doors for that room will be installed tomorrow.  Also, I had to take down all of our curtains and blinds today because our new windows (thank you federal government for that rebate you gave us a few months ago.) will also be installed tomorrow.  The windows are arriving as I type this.
    • Oh, and my parents arrive on Thursday, so I need to try to get my house somewhat back in order by then.  I know they won’t care how messy my house is, but I will.
    • My parents are coming because Saturday is my baby’s second birthday!  I can’t believe she’s going to be two!  I am having some problems with this.  She’s not a baby anymore!  It’s gone by way too fast.
    • I figured out how to make that pony cake I was asking for advice on.  I think it’s going to be really cute.
    • Ainsley is going on her first field trip tomorrow.  They’re going to an apple orchard.  I think she’s more excited about getting to ride a bus for the first time, though.
    • On Wednesday, I’m going to read some books to Ainsley’s class.  That should be fun.
    • Yesterday was the parade for our town’s 375th birthday.  We took the girls down the street to it.  It was a nice, small-town parade.  (I did not take even one picture.)
    • Remember I asked prayer for Josh’s job situation and possible moving to another location within his company?   Well, we prayed and prayed, and we think God wants him to stay right where he’s at.  We’re not going to worry about possible layoffs because we can’t control it.  God has promised to supply our needs and we know He will.
    • Oh, and we bought tile for that back porch room I was talking about.  I can’t wait to rip up that nasty carpet that’s back there.  Once the tile is down, there will be no room in my house that is carpeted.
    • Lorelei is still doing well going potty.  She has the occasional accident (a couple times a week), but for the most part, potty is going where potty is supposed to go.
    • We have an associate pastor coming to candidate at our church this weekend.  He would be an excellent music pastor.  We need that!
    • I think that has you all caught up on us.  I am going to try to come up with something to keep my blog a little more interesting…  I’ll let you know.
  • Happy First Day Of Fall!

     Welcome Autumn

    DSC00931

    Happy first day of fall to all of you.  Autumn is so lovely here in New England.  Our neighbor’s maple tree turns its lovely red and yellow very early each year.  These leaves are actually some of the last to turn and fall off.  The girls have enjoyed finding all the pretty ones.

    I don’t think I have a favorite season.  I love each one for different reasons.  God has given us such a blessing with these changes. 

    We had a lovely and relaxing weekend.  On Saturday Ainsley had soccer first thing then we went to a local park where they were having their annual “Country Fair.” 

    DSC00901

    Ainsley got her face painted.  She wanted her whole face made into a heart.

    DSC00904

    And they got to ride ponies!  See how excited she is.

    DSC00908

    Lorelei was a little nervous, but she absolutely loves ponies right now, so she got over it.

    DSC00910

    DSC00911

    We got to take a hayride…DSC00917

    …pulled by these gorgeous horses.

    DSC00925

    And Ainsley walked across the rope bridge put up by the Boy Scouts.

    There has been much going on here keeping us busy.  This week looks to be a little more quiet. 

    Enjoy the first days of autumn, everyone.

  • The Amazing Lorelei

    My little one will be two in just over two weeks.  She is a little chatterbox.  She talks non-stop.  It’s amazing how many words she knows, and she speaks in complete sentences nearly all of the time.  She knows her shapes, can count almost to 20 (needs a little help with the teens) and even knows a few letters.

    She sleeps like this every night, with both of her feet stuck outside the bars of her crib.

    She’s my brown-eyed babe.  She looks a lot like her daddy.
    She only sucks her thumb when she has her blankie.

    She’s determined.  Once she figures out how to do something by herself and not be scared, she does it over and over and over again. (I lost count at how many times she went down this slide by herself yesterday.)


    And she goes potty in the big girl potty!!!!

    Yup, she does.  I’m trying not to get too excited about it, but ok I’m really excited about it.  Her sister was… well, let’s just say potty training her was a challenge that included many tears and phone calls to my mom because I was sure she would be wearing diapers to college.  Since we began potty training Lorelei after Ainsley started school, she has had very few accidents, and in the last few days, none at all!  I’m trying to contain my excitement and not give away the diapers just yet (she still needs them at night anyway) but I am thrilled beyond belief at how well she’s doing.

    Thanks for letting me brag on my baby for a little bit.  I knew you all would understand.

  • Seven years ago…

    Those who know I used to work in television news often ask if I was working on this day seven years ago and what it was like to be in a newsroom on that day.  So, I decided to go ahead and share here what I remember.

    Was I working… well, no, I wasn’t scheduled.  On September 11, 2001 I had been working at WYFF-TV for exactly 1 year and 9 months.  I had been moving my way up the producer ladder, but I was still on some strange schedules.  At that time, I was working Thursday-Monday second shift.  Josh was on second shift also.  So, the night before I had been up late working.  When the first tower was hit Josh and I were still sleeping.  At some point during the 9:00 hour, my father in law called, asking if we had heard from Jay, Josh’s brother.  Jay was working for the Department of Defense in D.C. at that time and with all the chaos of the moment, he just wanted to make sure Jay was ok.  We hadn’t yet heard from Jay, but we did turn on the TV and begin watching the unbelievable. 

    I watched for a few minutes and then looked at Josh, he knew exactly what I was going to do.  I was going to work.  I threw on some clothes and got there as fast as I could.  The newsroom, even in Greenville, South Carolina, was mass chaos.  Everyone was shouting, every TV was turned on to a different news organization.  I went straight to my news director and told him I was there to do whatever needed to be done.  I did all sorts of assorted jobs that day.   Not much of it was part of my normal workload.  I went out with a photographer and interviewed people on the street, I made many a phone call to book interviews with various pundits, psychologists, professors, etc., I wrote scripts, even ran the teleprompter and helped in the studio.  But all in all, I did little, the story was not in Greenville, South Carolina it was in New York, it was in DC and we as local affiliates just watched and waited.  If you remember, the affiliates did little in the several days after the attack.  The networks ran 24/7 with short cut-ins for the affiliates.  It was the one of the biggest days in news and one of the smallest as well.  There was just one story.  But it was very hard to tell.

    What ran through my mind most that day was something Bob Jones III would say in chapel during my days as a student at Bob Jones University.  He would say “The most sobering reality in the world today…” and the students would say “is that people are dying and going to hell today.”  3,000 people died that day.  Many of them, I’m sure, ended up spending their eternity in hell.  A sobering reality that certainly is.  It seemed for a short time after 9/11 that America may be having a revival, people’s thoughts were turning to God.  But that proved short-lived.  What will take for God to get our attention?  What will it take for us as Christians to be bold and share the good news of the gospel?

    The most sobering reality in the world today is that people are dying and going to hell today.

    May those who lost loved ones on this day seven years go feel God’s peace and comfort today.

  • I’m officially a Soccer Mom!

    Ainsley had her first soccer practice on Saturday.  She loved it, even though it was insanely humid and she was hot, sweaty and tired by the end. 

    She and her friend Emily ended up on the same team.  There were about 50 4-5 year olds there.  They were just broken into teams to scrimmage and learn basics, I don’t believe there will be any real games.  I’ll let you know. :)


    It was great watching her concentrate so hard.  She is really starting to grow up.  She was listening to what the coach said and trying very hard to do it just right.  Just a few months ago, she would have been off doing her own thing.



    Doesn’t she look like a natural?  Uncle Jim what do you think of her form?


    In other news, we’d appreciate prayers as we make a decision about Josh’s job.  He may transfer to another (read, farther away) location, but his job would be more secure there.  He is most likely going to be laid off sometime after the first of the year if he stays where he is.  The problem is, he’d have to travel farther (he’d need a different car), he would be on second shift and his job would be boring… but he’d make more money and his job would be secure… with the possibility of changing shifts in the next few months and even returning to his current work location hopefully in a few years…  So, we have a lot to think and pray about. 

  • Things Accomplished Today

    • Everyone fed three meals
    • Ainsley brought to and from school
    • EIGHT loads of laundry washed, dried, folded and put away
    • Entire house swept or vacuumed
    • Downstairs mopped
    • Read lots of books to Lorelei while she sat on the potty.  (She went, once.)
    • Talked to my mom on the phone.
    • Had the girls clean up the play area
    • Watched the girls swim in the pool in the backyard.
    • Froze all the blueberries we picked yesterday.
    • Talked to a friend who put her baby on a bus to school for the first time today.
    • Got a new stroller in the mail… it was REALLY cheap… and it’s REALLY nice.
    • Cleaned up kitchen, several times.
    • Gave the girls a bath.
    • Trimmed and painted pink 20 little fingers and 20 little toes. 
    • Sold couch and chair that did not sell in our tag sale on Saturday.  (Tag sale went well, we made nearly $300!!!)
    • Chatted with my husband.
    • Watched Republican National Convention and got a little aggravated… at Katie Couric.
    • Talked to a friend on the phone who needed some parenting advice.
    • Blogged.
    • And much more I’m sure I’m forgetting…

    For tomorrow:

    • Grocery shopping!!!  My freezer has only chicken nuggets and frozen corn in it.
    • Work more on potty training
    • Dust the whole house and get the upstairs mopped
    • Play with my girls
    • Take a walk with that new stroller
    • Go to the bank
    • Go to church.

    How was your day?  What’s on the agenda for tomorrow?