September 16, 2008

  • The Amazing Lorelei

    My little one will be two in just over two weeks.  She is a little chatterbox.  She talks non-stop.  It's amazing how many words she knows, and she speaks in complete sentences nearly all of the time.  She knows her shapes, can count almost to 20 (needs a little help with the teens) and even knows a few letters.

    She sleeps like this every night, with both of her feet stuck outside the bars of her crib.

    She's my brown-eyed babe.  She looks a lot like her daddy.
    She only sucks her thumb when she has her blankie.

    She's determined.  Once she figures out how to do something by herself and not be scared, she does it over and over and over again. (I lost count at how many times she went down this slide by herself yesterday.)


    And she goes potty in the big girl potty!!!!

    Yup, she does.  I'm trying not to get too excited about it, but ok I'm really excited about it.  Her sister was... well, let's just say potty training her was a challenge that included many tears and phone calls to my mom because I was sure she would be wearing diapers to college.  Since we began potty training Lorelei after Ainsley started school, she has had very few accidents, and in the last few days, none at all!  I'm trying to contain my excitement and not give away the diapers just yet (she still needs them at night anyway) but I am thrilled beyond belief at how well she's doing.

    Thanks for letting me brag on my baby for a little bit.  I knew you all would understand.

Comments (17)

  • we all love that girl..she is so sweet...I wish I could take her home sometimes! 

  • that is an amazing accomplishment for both of you!!!  Congrats!!!!

  • Wow - I can't believe she is so big already.  I remember reading your blog when you were expecting her...We have known each other that long and have never met face to face...hard to believe. 

    Congratuations on the Potty Training!  It is such a relief when the diapers are finaly gone.

  • Wow!  What a smart little gal!  I'm sitting here watching my newly turned 2 year old...he's got a cowboy hat on and a western gun in hand watching Elmo. Two is a blast!

  • Potty trained?!? Wow, congrats on that. That to me is the absoulute worst thing a mother has to deal with. Labor, big deal, starting school, hard but still not as bad as potty training. So glad that went smooth for you. I need to start with Bella, and I just don't want to.
        She is just so beautiful. Happy early birthday to her.

  • Aw, what a sweet girl - enjoy her today. And awesome job with the potty training! My Cadi has regressed, so we have had to work extra hard lately.

  • WooHoo!  Congrats!  I would be ecstatic too!  She is such a little girl now.  What a beautiful family you have!  How's Ainsley doing in school?  Still good?

  • WOWZA!!  Sounds like a fun little girly! :)   I love the picture of her with her blanket. :)   I really wanted brown eyes for my kiddoes, but I guess my blue genes aren't as recessive as everyone thinks!  I have little white Mexicans.  :)   GREAT JOB on the potty training!  Gabriel is just getting to the point where I don't have to remember to send him to the potty every 45 min. or so and it feels GREAT - and he's like 8 mos older than yours!  So KUDOS.  Not sure if I've ever used that word before, but hey.  Try anything once, eh?! :)

  • she is so cute and big now. Go mom for early potty training!

  • "Wahoo" to the Big Potty Seat girl. 

    Such a sweet picture of her feet hanging off the bed.

  • I love her feet sticking out of the crib...too cute.  Like I told you Sunday, I'd gladly take her off your hands for you...LOL  She's so funny, so much personality.  She's doing great with the potty training. :)   She was very proud to get up on the potty Sunday night. :)

  • I didn't really post about admist all the other hoopla in our life, but Eden recently gave up the nightime pull-up...and the accidents are slowly becoming fewere and farther between!  While day training was snap with her, this night thing has been much more challenging with her than with Lonna.  So I know how this milestone can cause you feel a bit giddy! 

  • Yay for Lorelei!  I just read a post at Rocks in my Dryer about potty training!  Your post made me think of it.  It was pretty funny stuff!  She has 3 boys and a girl (I think) and had some great stories!

    Those little feet are so sweet, aren't they?  I never could stand "feet in" pajamas - maybe that's how she feels about her bed!!!

    Way to go, Mommy!

  • The crib picture is so cute! Thanks for sharing! 

    And a quick question...how long do babies normally stay in a crib?  When do they graduate to a toddler bed?  So far they haven't covered that in our baby classes. =)

  • @dbburrus19 - That is totally up to you and your baby.  Ainsley was already out of her crib by the time she was two because she was climbing out of her crib head-first.  I know Jim and Hannah's Ben is already out of his crib for that reason, too.  Lorelei has not even attempted to climb out, so she's in there until we have another baby or she gets way too big for the crib. :)

  • I love that crib picture...too cute :)

    Thanks for the comment and the encouragement. It's good to hear it from someone who has been in my place.

  • Lorelei has certainly grown since we first met on here! And yay ... on the potty training! That is wonderful! The pictures are so sweet ... I, too, love the one with her little feet sticking out of the crib! We don't mind the bragging at all!

    I know I haven't been around too much lately ... so much has been going on with Elizabeth, and now I found out a very dear close friend of mine has breast cancer ... it's been a rough summer, and when I do get on here, it is a place to just unwind a bit. You have a blessed weekend, Cathi, and thanks for dropping over yesterday! <><

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment