September 11, 2008

  • Seven years ago...

    Those who know I used to work in television news often ask if I was working on this day seven years ago and what it was like to be in a newsroom on that day.  So, I decided to go ahead and share here what I remember.

    Was I working... well, no, I wasn't scheduled.  On September 11, 2001 I had been working at WYFF-TV for exactly 1 year and 9 months.  I had been moving my way up the producer ladder, but I was still on some strange schedules.  At that time, I was working Thursday-Monday second shift.  Josh was on second shift also.  So, the night before I had been up late working.  When the first tower was hit Josh and I were still sleeping.  At some point during the 9:00 hour, my father in law called, asking if we had heard from Jay, Josh's brother.  Jay was working for the Department of Defense in D.C. at that time and with all the chaos of the moment, he just wanted to make sure Jay was ok.  We hadn't yet heard from Jay, but we did turn on the TV and begin watching the unbelievable. 

    I watched for a few minutes and then looked at Josh, he knew exactly what I was going to do.  I was going to work.  I threw on some clothes and got there as fast as I could.  The newsroom, even in Greenville, South Carolina, was mass chaos.  Everyone was shouting, every TV was turned on to a different news organization.  I went straight to my news director and told him I was there to do whatever needed to be done.  I did all sorts of assorted jobs that day.   Not much of it was part of my normal workload.  I went out with a photographer and interviewed people on the street, I made many a phone call to book interviews with various pundits, psychologists, professors, etc., I wrote scripts, even ran the teleprompter and helped in the studio.  But all in all, I did little, the story was not in Greenville, South Carolina it was in New York, it was in DC and we as local affiliates just watched and waited.  If you remember, the affiliates did little in the several days after the attack.  The networks ran 24/7 with short cut-ins for the affiliates.  It was the one of the biggest days in news and one of the smallest as well.  There was just one story.  But it was very hard to tell.

    What ran through my mind most that day was something Bob Jones III would say in chapel during my days as a student at Bob Jones University.  He would say "The most sobering reality in the world today..." and the students would say "is that people are dying and going to hell today."  3,000 people died that day.  Many of them, I'm sure, ended up spending their eternity in hell.  A sobering reality that certainly is.  It seemed for a short time after 9/11 that America may be having a revival, people's thoughts were turning to God.  But that proved short-lived.  What will take for God to get our attention?  What will it take for us as Christians to be bold and share the good news of the gospel?

    The most sobering reality in the world today is that people are dying and going to hell today.

    May those who lost loved ones on this day seven years go feel God's peace and comfort today.

Comments (6)

  • It was such a nightmare. I was 17, just married, and heading to my job as a waitress at a local restaurant. I heard the news on one station, and thought it was some sick joke, so I changed it and heard it again on another. That day, all the tv's were on, and all eyes were glued to it.  I think that is one of those times that people will always remember what they did that day. Like when Kenedy was assasinated, or when Neil Armstrong first took that step. We will always remember.
        I was watching a show last year on this day, and there were people trying to tell everyone, that it wasn't healthy, that we needed to forget about it, and move on. I was shocked and outraged. A mother got on there and said "You want me to forget the sacrifice my son, a fire fighter has given. You want me to get over what I lost?"   I couldn't imagine what these poor families have had to go through. 
      You are right, it did look like a revival was taking place. How easily we forget. What is it going to take to bring America to its knees again?

  • That's so interesting, to read it from a "news person's" point of view!

    When 9/11 happened, Rich and I were living in Bigelow Commons w/3 preschoolers.  I was busy vaccuming that morning, and had the couches pulled away from the walls, and the news on.  So, I saw the whole thing unfold as it happened.  When RIch came home early, he found me sitting on the couch, with them both still out and the vacuum by my side.  It was shocking, I didn't even know what to think at first.  I watched TV all day long.  I don't even remember the kids being there with me, but I know they were.

    What was touching to me, was seeing that brief revival that you spoke about here.

    BTW, I wasn't barefoot in the photo.  LOL 

    Have a great night, friend!

  • Thank you for sharing!  Those thoughts at the end are very sobering. 

  • I had a baby, only a little over 2 mos old at the time, and an almost 4 year old, and a 2 year old.  It was a scary time for a mom with such little ones, wondering what kind of world I brought my beautiful kids into. 

    Now, with the elections coming up, to hear those same babies of mine voicing their opinions on why they want McCain to win, it is clear why we brought our kids into this world.  They are the future generation.  They have voices that God can use for good!  They continue to awe me in their childlike faith.  I am truly thankful for my children and for the daily reminder that God is good and faithful.

  • .Your post is so-o good!  That was my thoughts on 9/11 also.  ....How many of these people died and ended up in hell?  How many had not been told???  Why don't we care???  Keep up the good work for the Lord.  May He use you in a great way to glorify His Name!!!

  • I thought those same thoughts in your last paragraph there, as well, Cathi! I was watching the History channel last night with my husband ... there were, I believe, about 5 people who had documented that terrible day on film ... they each shared their thoughts, as film of the events of that day were being shown ... some of the footage, well, actually most of it, I had not yet seen. It is very sobering to think of all who were 'lost' in that tradgedy! The man that works with my husband lost his brother at the Pentagon that day. It was truly a sad day for him. Thank you for sharing this ... we can never forget! But as you said, 'what will it take for God to get our attention ... or, to capture the heart of this nation?' I'm glad you dropped over ... I've missed reading here. You have a blessed week! <><

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment