December 7, 2008

  • A Week in Pictures

    I'm going to skip the craziness of last week, the meetings, the cantata practice, grocery shopping, the Christmas tree debacle... I'm just going to show the pictures of family fun.  Because hopefully, that's all I'll remember, too.
    Decorating the tree...


    Doesn't she look like she's working very hard?
     
    The girls helped put the star on the top.

    Ainsley had been begging all week to make some Christmas cookies.  I just hadn't had the time.  By Friday, I just couldn't tell her no again, so I just bought some store-bought dough sheets and let them cut out cookies in between my three meetings.  It made all three of us so happy, in the midst of the busy-ness.

    That night I was supposed to go to church and help decorate it for Christmas, but I was exhausted.  And I really needed a little family and relaxation time.

    I stayed home and we all decorated cookies.
     
     
    These are girls' cookies.  Don't worry those of you who might be getting some cookies from me.  You won't get any the girls touched.  Promise.

    She just pretty much licked icing the whole time.  I think she liked it.
    After the cookie decorating, we snuggled in and watched the new "Tinkerbell" movie, complete with popcorn and us all piled together on one couch, cuddling.
     
    Me, the girls, and Fenway (who loves to get in any pictures) in our decorated living room.

    My family.  I am so thankful for each one of them.
     

Comments (17)

  • Very cute pictures. :)   Looks like you guys had a great time indeed.

  • Cute cute pictures.....and, I would love a review on the new Tinkerbell movie.  Any good?  Love ya, Shan

  • That last picture is just precious!  Everybody looks so good, smiling and looking at the camera!  Definitely a keeper!

    Your house is verrrrry pretty!  And so snuggly and Christmasy, too!

    I'm glad you are all recovered from the recent illnesses.  Good for you, too, for staying home to rest when you need to.  It's not always easy, especially when you have to miss something fun, but really important for you and the little one.

    I was just thinking how lucky the girls are to have such a tall and strong Daddy so that they could BOTH help with that star!  But what will you do next year?????   He only has 2 arms!!!  lol!

    Thanks for sharing the pics!
    Alesha
    P.S. can you tell I just had coffee?  I'm TOO chatty!

  • same here. super busy but focusing on the non depressing and good! Love your living room btw:)

  • @purpleamethyst76 - The Tinkerbell movie was cute and it was only an hour long, which is nice.  The only slightly "objectionable" thing was that the fairies brought the seasons.  And I wasn't thrilled with how Tinkerbell was dressed, a little overly sexy for my taste, the other fairies didn't seem to be that way, though.  Otherwise it was fine.  The "moral," as all of these movies have a moral, is to be proud of the talents you have, don't be jealous of others' talents, and use those talents.

  • you guys are too cute!  Do you have white house ornaments on your tree?  I clicked to look closer but the pic didn't get big enough!

  • @MommyinChrist - We do!  Josh's brother and his wife (who live outside DC) buy us one each year.  They are so pretty.

  • @writersblock1117 - I thought so!  We have about 5 years' worth of white house and camp david ornaments...aren't they just so pretty?  I told Ben I need to go online and see if I can find one for this year since we don't have access to them anymore.

  • LOVe that las family pic!!! Ainsley is HYSTERICAL!!!!!! I was going to ask you to post your recipe for dough because it looked so good and then you said it was store-bought. THAT's what I'm going to do. My dough is always not right! What fun memories and beautiful tree!

  • I loved all of your photos of your beautiful family! Your house does look gorgeous! I am glad you wrote that review about Tinkerbell - we actually bought it for Cadi for Christmas, and I had been wondering. How are you feeling? You look terrific!

  • @mtc92405 - I'm feeling really well, as long as I don't overdo it, like I did all last week.  I'll be 13 weeks tomorrow. Woohoo!  Thanks for asking.

  • Oh, I love the final picture! Happy Christmas family!

    ~whatever!

  • Awww...  I like that.  And I love that you said "Christmas tree debacle."  :)   Makes me so curious!  I think this is the best idea sometimes - take pictures of the cute and fun stuff and hope to forget the rest!  I laughed at your picture of Lorelei's face full of icing.  I know someone who would do the same. :)  

  • I really like the last family picture. You look so good Cath; esp for being pregnant and pushing yourself so hard, trying to fit everything in. i am glad you cherish your memories too. The girls are getting so big!

  • Fun...and what a perfect family photo!! 

  • RYC: Thank you so much for you sweet comment, Cathi! I'm just so thankful that He never leaves us, and we don't travel through our trials alone! Things are getting better, although now, I'm looking at a pretty busy show schedule. Things will definitely slow down after January!

    It looks like you had a wonderful, relaxing time with your family here. The girls looked like they were enjoying themselves, and I'm glad they are feeling better now! I'd love to hear about the Christmas tree debacle ... the tree you have there is so beautiful, as well as are all of your other Christmas decorations. Your home just looks so cozy!

    You sound like you've had a busy schedule ... you're in my prayers that you'll continue to feel well throughout your pregnancy! And, I too, must say that I really like that last family photo! Keep making those sweet memories (and sharing them), and have a blessed week. Hugs <><

  • I LOVE your family photo, very sweet.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment