June 30, 2008

  • I haven't yet moved to Australia

    If you don't get that, you'll have to read the book referred to in my last post.

    Suffice it to say, things have gotten better since last Wednesday.  I have been quite busy since then, too.  And July is jam-packed with things to do: swimming lessons for both girls, a sports day-camp for Ainsley, a trip to Chicago and Bible School.

    Yes, a trip to Chicago, I said.  My grandpa called today and wants us to fly out to join my grandparents, my parents, brother, sister-in-law, and nephews on a little vacation.  He said he'd pay for our flight.  Well, ok then, we'll be there.  How special is that?  I couldn't believe it.  I often feel a bit left out since everyone else lives near each other, even attending the same church.  I am so happy he wants us there and volunteered to pay for it to make sure it will happen.   God is so good.  We had pretty much decided a summer visit wouldn't be possible with gas prices being so high.  I'm so thankful for my wonderful grandparents.

    So, that made my day today, as you can imagine.  So, now I'm searching for flights and trying to work out our schedule.  We'll also be trying to fit in a visit with Josh's brother who will be coming up for a few days probably right when we get back from Chicago.  Oh, and Josh's high school reunion is this month...

    So, if you don't see me for awhile... that's why...

Comments (15)

  • Wow, that's so awesome, I'm glad you get to go home, and for free! :)   Sounds like your July is just as busy as ours :)   Glad to hear you had a great day today, too.

  • OOOOOOh, So exciting! Chicago is not Australia, but it just might do the trick!

    Have a GREAT time! I'll miss you!

  • Have fun in Chicago. How cool is that!  You are one busy girl. Have fun

  • Busy busy busy!  That is so nice of your Grandpa, I'm sure that made you feel really good.  They WANTED you guys that much!  I remember once when Rich and I lived 8 hours from home and couldn't afford the gas to get back to NY for a family reunion and my dad gave us a check to cover the price.  I still feel good about that! 

    I saw the pictures on Trish's site of the six flags adventure~looked like a lot of fun~

    Hope you have a great week and con't to have all the energy you need to have all these adventures (spoken like a true pregnant woman!!!)  Love ya~

  • Sounds like lots of fun and business.  I pray that God will give you the strength and endurance to go through the summer months with ease and plenty of happy times!  that was so thoughtful of your grandfather!  I hope you have a great time!

  • I was just thinking myself about how busy summer can be....no lazy days here either!  Anyway, ENJOY YOUR TRIP...sounds like it's going to be quite the blessing! 

  • Cathi when will I see you??? That was so nice of your grandpa what a blessing. What are you doing today?

  • Enjoy your vacation.  You do have good grandparents.

  • Ahh.... fun times!  What part of Chicago will you be visiting?  There are tons of fun things to do here in the Summer as you probably know!

  • how nice of your grandparents!!!!!   What a fun trip, too!

  • @kristijez - We won't actually be doing anything in Chicago except visiting family.  That will be our starting point since that's where they all live.  Then we will be going down to Shelbyville where my grandpa has a boat... that will be the vacation part, I guess.  I don't care what we do, I just love being able to visit all my family in one shot.

  • The front right seat of the boat is offically the mommy needs a break seat!  Every picture of me on the boat has me asleep in that chair.  Not flattering pictures, but an hour or so soaking up sun, warmth, and family usually has me back on track in no time flat!  Can't wait to see you all!  Dad is incredibly wonderful.  What would we do without him?  He is such a wonderful, generous person. Love you lots--glad to hear the "Austraila trip" is off for now.  I had that book in my desk at school and would read it to the students every so often!

    Uncle G is helping Jimbo today, hopefully that project will be done by the time you get here.  Something about water in the basement (again) and drywall.  I tend to stay out of these things.  Today is the first time in a long time that I am "stuck" at home.  No car to leave the house, no place to go, nothing to buy, no job to go to, no kids home--oh wait--sounds pretty good now that it's in writing  Sorry, I'm not bragging, but realizing how good God truly is.  I wanted some quiet time to play the stereo and now I have it!  Better go enjoy the "quiet" until Uncle G comes home and needs to go to bed and I have to turn the stereo off.  Considering the fact the stereo is directly under our bedroom and he needs to sleep sometime, I'm going to enjoy this time.

  • How wonderful, your trip to Chicago to see family!!!

    You are so busy!!!! Wow!!! It all sounds like fun though, so enjoy!

  • I'd love to take a trip to Australia but, Chicago would be quite nice, too! I'm glad things are going better for you, Cathi! It sounds like you're going to have a great month on the summer vacation with your family! How sweet of your grandparents to provide for your trip! We're hoping to see our son sometime this summer ... it's just so expensive for him to fly right now. I just wish it wasn't so far away from us! Anyway, you have a wonderful time ... I know you have lots of packing to do, and plans to make, so I'll be keeping you in my prayers. Have a great week, and a blessed Independence Day! <><

  • RYC: I am feeling better today ... and to top it off, my sweet son called to talk to me this morning!

    I hope things are going well for you, too, Cathi! It sure sounds like you're going to have a fun-filled weekend with your family there! Strawberry and raspberry picking sounds yummy (I usually end up with more in my mouth than in the bucket!) All such special times for building memories! Don't forget pictures!! <><

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment