October 21, 2008

  • So much to say, so little time.

    Much has been going on around here, and I don't have the time or energy to write about all of it.  I'll just give you a few highlights.

    Last Friday, all three of us girls got our hair cut.  It was Lorelei's first hair cut.  I thought she might be scared, but she loved it, and did just fine.  I decided to go ahead and give her bangs.

    A relative of my friend Amanda used to cut hair in a salon until she had her son.  So, we had her come over to Amanda's house and she cut Amanda and her daughter Naomi's hair along with my two girls and me.  It was a little hair cutting party.  It worked out great for everyone involved.

    Lorelei didn't want to take a picture right after she got her hair cut, she was too busy playing with Naomi.  So I took this one the next day while she was "helping" me make cupcakes for a friend.

    On Saturday I took Ainsley to a birthday party with a princess/knight theme.  It was for four children in our church who are turning 5 this month.  We let her pick out a new princess dress for this occasion and for the harvest party at her school next week.  This is what she chose: Snowflake Princess.  She really wanted to be Ariel, but daddy kept balking at the seashell bra. I can't imagine why he wouldn't want his 4-year-old wearing that.


    This is Ainsley and one of her best friends in the whole world.  She and Abigail have been buddies since they were born just a month a part 4 and a half years ago.  This past week we had to tell her that Abigail is moving away soon.   As a mother, it broke my heart to have to tell her something so sad.  We want to protect our children from all disappointment and hurt, even though it's impossible to do so.  I cried as we tried to explain to her what was going to happen.  Ainsley, the child who finds joy in everything, who absolutely loves every minute of life, seemed to be undisturbed.  She said she was sad Abigail was moving, but that she still had other friends.  I'm not sure she completely understands what moving away means, even after we explained it many times.  I'm sure the reality will hit her in two weeks when Abigail isn't in her Sunday School class anymore.  And that's when she's going to really need her mommy.

Comments (7)

  • So cute!  Your little girls are such beautiful princesses!  It is so sad to lose a friend.  Maybe they could send little letters/cards in the mail.  I lost a lot of friends growing up but it made me cherish the new ones all the more later on in life.  Once I settled down (6th grade) I was able to have long lasting relationships but I still am very best friends with a girl I meet in 3rd grade!  Love, Lish

  • oh you made tears in my eyes..maybe it will be more hard on us then them!! 

    my heart breaks but WE WILL KEEP IN CONTACT!!!!!!!!

  • Very cute...I know, Alex already cried over Abigail, he's so tender-hearted.  They'll all be sad once they figure out that she's gone, that's for sure.  Hope you're having a good day today.

  • I wanna see your haircut!!!

  • Oh, that new haircut is SO cute, and the bangs were definitely a good decision.  She is adorable with them!

    What a great idea to have a themed BD party.  Fun, fun!

    I remember vividly when my first friend moved away.  I was in first grade.  Her name was Rene Turner.  I cried and cried.  I've said goodbye to many precious friends over the years.  That first one was just a part of growing up.  Sad, but necessary, I guess.  And you're right, she will need you.  I remember my mom comforting me and talking and talking until I felt better. 

    Sigh...I'll be praying she does ok.
    Alesha

  • Hi Cathi!  I loved the updated blog entry~ L looks so cute with her hair cut and I do so love to see little baby-faces enjoying those big kitchaid mixer-thingies.

    I hated seeing all of Jacob's little friends leaving the church left and right a few years back, it made me feel so lost and lonely for him, but Jacob got through it just fine and he's okay (mostly, I'm sure, because he has his brothers and sister).  At least you and B can keep the girls in touch with each other the best you can.  It's hard to say good-bye.  That's why I'm in denial about it right now.  That's right, I'm surpressing my emotions.   LOL

    ANYWAY, thanks for being YOU.  Have a great night!  ~Shan

  • What a fun way to get haircuts!  The bangs look really cute.

    Ainsley's costume is so pretty!  That's a fun party idea.

    That's so sad about her friend.  It's such a difficult thing.  I had friends move away when I was little, but we kept in touch here and there and it was fun when we did.  :)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment