October 1, 2008

  • Whew!

    Thanks for all kind words and prayers about my jaw.  It is getting better.  I can open my mouth almost all the way now.  It is still a little sore, but the pain is much better than it was on Monday.

    Yesterday was our big door and window day.  It was a blessing that my father in law sent over his work crew from his construction company to help.  We have new windows in the whole house and four of our sliding glass doors in the porch room have been replaced with French doors.  They look so nice. And you can already tell the difference.  The house is much quieter, and I know both the doors and windows are going to save us a ton of money this winter.  Our old windows were so drafty. The 5th sliding glass door will be replaced with a fireplace insert and shelving at some point.  Not sure when that's going to happen...

    After all that work, the house was a disaster.  There were paint chips EVERYWHERE.  I spent all day today cleaning, scrubbing, dusting, etc.  My mother in law graciously watched Lorelei this morning so I could clean the house without distractions after I read a story to Ainsley's class.  And then both my girls took a nap this afternoon.  That helped a lot, too. I just have to clean the sink and vacuum the stairs tomorrow and then I'll be all ready for my parents to get here.

    They arrive at 11:45, so we'll be picking them up right after I get Ainsley from school. They will be here until Tuesday.  I am so looking forward to their visit.  I know they are, too.

    I think we'll be celebrating Lorelei's birthday on Friday night.  I'll be sure to put up pictures of that famous pony cake. 

Comments (5)

  • I look forward to seeing all the changes in your house...sounds really neato.  Hopefully things will go smoothly tomorrow, and you can have a nice visit with your parents.  I can't believe that cute girl is almost two already...I hope she has a very special birthday.  Have a great night, Cath.  Love, Trish

  • Everybody look out!  Cath can use her jaw again!!!!!!!!  LOL

    The house improvements sound GREAT!  I didn't realize you had so many sliding glass doors at your place!  And what luxury, to be able to clean without any distractions!  It's been so long that that's happened here, that I know I would LOVE it!  xoxox, Shan

  • Wow, sounds like a really busy week.  But also worth it to have a cozier home.  I'm glad to hear that you are feeling better.  Have a fun weekend with your parents!

  • Wow.  I'm so glad you got all those things done before snow fly's.  We've replaced about half the windows in the house so far.  We've done it ourselves and learned along the way.  It definitely makes an improvement!  We just had a huge mess in our house too of pain chips, dust . . . I'm going to have to clean from top to bottom when we're completely finished.  I hope you have a great time with your parents!  Have a great weekend!

  • So glad your jaw is doing better, Cathi! I've always wanted new windows ... and doors! It seems every house we've lived in, the windows were drafty, too! The house we're looking at has new ones in it, and that's a blessing! We're so busy with the festivals that my house cleaning is way off schedule, but it'll get done, eventually! Sounds like you'll have a wonderful time with your parents, and also celebrating Lorelei's birthday tonight! Can't wait to see the photos! You have fun! <><

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment