July 14, 2008

  • They grow way too fast

    This stay at home mommy handed her oldest child over to someone she did not personally know today.

    It was a bit harder than I thought it would be.  Ainsley started her first day camp.  It's a sports camp to teach the fundamentals of soccer, basketball and baseball to kids 4-7.  She was gone for THREE HOURS!

    Now, when I signed her up for this, I had no qualms about it.  I just thought it would be great for my very active 4-year-old.  But as the time grew closer, I started thinking about what it was going to be like to hand her over to someone I don't know for three whole hours.  I realize many moms do this every day, but for us stay at home mommies, handing over the reigns of our children can be difficult.

    Of course, I've left my children with other people... family and friends... but never in a situation like this... never with someone I did not know at all.

    I was put at ease very quickly today.  The workers for this camp had everything covered and seemed to genuinely like kids.  We've been to a few recreation department events where it seemed like the workers were just there to get paid and really had no interest in dealing with the children.

    Ainsley, of course, instantly made friends and when it was time for the parents to leave just said, "bye mom," and ran off with them.  I guess she's ready to be let go.... even if I'm not quite ready.

    She'll be going to the camp each day this week.  I figured it would be a good way to get us used to what it will be like when school starts.  Today, Lorelei and I just came home, played with puzzles and picked up a little bit before it was time to go back and get big sister.

    We also started swimming lessons last week.  We have them this week as well.  Sports camp in the morning... swimming in the afternoon.. it's a busy week for us.  And then we leave on Friday for Chicago! 

    As for swimming lessons... both girls are doing wonderfully.  Ainsley has been jumping off the diving board and swimming in the deep end.  The instructors made her swim the entire length of the pool the other day.  She was tired after that!  Lorelei is thoroughly enjoying her parent and tot class.  She is really coming out of her shell this summer.  She's no longer so timid and afraid of everything.  It's so much fun.
     
    In other news...
    Check out what's growing in my garden!
    I'm finally having some success growing things here.

    Yummy!

Comments (12)

  • What lovely vegetation you have.  I haven't had a good tomato yet this year....Bummer.

    I know what you mean about letting others watch your kids....it's so hard.  I know I'd struggle....probably park the car a bit away and spy with my bonoculars!  Just kidding.   Maybe I would though...my husband is much worse than I am!!

  • I'm so glad to hear it went well!  I was praying.  :)

    Your garden looks great!  Ours isn't doing so well this year.  The strawberries thrived but the veggies are lagging behind.  I'm not sure what's up. 

    Enjoy!

  • It's so exciting to see your garden!  Good job on that!!  I have some peas ready but I just let the kids eat them right out of the garden.  I have green cherry tomatoes and it will be a while before I see beans and pumpkins.  That's all I ended up planting this year.

    I was trying to remember when you were leaving for your trip, I'm sure you are looking forward to that.

    Thanks for describing your feelings about A. starting her day camp.  I've had those same feelings before and I know I will be a oozing mess on the day I send David off to his first day of school.  Ugh.  But, as you say, the little ones seem so happy and READY to go off and learn and grow.  I'm so proud of our children!

    Keep up the AWESOME WORK, garden/swimming/day- camp- sender/berry picking Mama!   

  • I love the garden pictures. Your garden  is coming along nicely. :o )

    Kelly

  • Garden looks great!  What a busy week you have!  I hope everything continues to go well.

  • You hid all your apprehesion well then, if Ainsley went on with confidence and security.  I had a mom last week for Kidz GIG that was so nervous...more neverous than the kid...but eventually you saw it come out in the little girl.  It would make me sad that she would disengage because of all that fear and anxiety.  There is something to be said for the mama who gives her kids the chance to spread their wings and fly.  I bet she was so excited to see at the end of camp and tell you all about her adventures.  Way to stay strong! 

  • Wow, your garden looks great!  And what a fun summer you are having with your girls!  Yay, Mom!!!  Your girls are both just beautiful, and I'm tickled to hear that your little one is getting bolder about things.  That is very cool!  And you are doing really well keeping your energetic one busy and tired out.  You've got a good plan going there, I think!

    I pray you all have a good trip to see your family.  What a nice treat! 

    God bless!

    Alesha

  • I was going to send Wyatt to a Christian day camp this week that was all day long.  He had a friend going, but I was SO glad when he said he didn't want to go!  I was so sick thinking of him being gone all day long with strangers!

    Woohoo on the garden!!!!

  • The day camp sounds right up her alley! Did she like it? I know what you mean though...oh I would have a really hard time with that! It helps when they are happy and just say "bye mom!"

    Your garden is beautiful! A goal I have wanted for many years now, but never get to it in time!

    Blessings,
    K

  • I totally understand {even though it's been a 'few' years now for me}, how hard it can be to let them go be with someone you don't know ... they certainly have an easier time of it then we do! It does get easier, really!

    Sounds like you have a full week .. you enjoy that trip to Chicago. Your garden is beautiful ... I love zucchini and squash, grilled with a bit of EVOO and butter, with some sweet onions, and an added touch of those fresh herbs sprinkled on them! Then, there's the yummy loaves of chocolate zucchini bread!! Our shared garden is coming along slowly for some reason ... but with a little care and patience, we will reap the fruits of our labor! You have a wonderful week, Cathi! Bless you! <><

  • Your garden looks marvelous!  Glad you guys are enjoying your busy summer. :)

  • Busy girl. Don't wear yourself out. Have a great week!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment