January 29, 2009

  • A Week of Change

    For 5 years a crib sat in a green room in our house.  The room was decorated with Winnie the Pooh.  For five years that crib has either been occupied or there has been a baby in my womb growing snugly until she was ready to take her place in that crib.

    The crib is gone now.  It’s empty.  There’s no baby coming to fill it. 

    I knew when we found out I had miscarried nearly two months ago that soon we would have no use for that crib.  But Lorelei was still happily sleeping there.  She hadn’t yet tried to climb out… that is, until this past weekend.

    Lorelei decided to take the plunge out of the crib, and I decided we needed to take the plunge and dismantle the crib.  I had a hard time when I first realized I was really going to move her to the bed and there would be no use for the crib in their room any more.  But I am trying now to focus on all the milestones my “big girls” are hitting.  And how thankful I am that I have them.

    We put her in the bed for the first time Tuesday night.  I had to go to a story, which I think was good for me.  I didn’t have time to dwell on the thought…

    My husband got to listen to them giggle as they settled in to their new sleeping arrangements.  With Lorelei moving out of the crib and into the bunk beds, that means Ainsley is moving up to the top bunk!

    He also got to handle the first time she realized she could get out of bed and leave the room.  He got to hear her sweet little voice from the top of the stairs.  He got to put her back in that big bed and give her a warning not to get up again.  (It worked.)


    Yesterday, it was snowing all day and we worked at redecorating and rearranging the girls’ room now that it is painted a very girlie lavender and all traces of Winnie the Pooh are gone.  I told Josh to dismantle the crib.  It’s no longer being used.  It’s a big girl room now.  And that’s ok.  That’s what God has for us right now.

    So here are a few funny things and milestones from our house recently….

    Ainsley can sound out one vowel words.
    Ainsley told a fellow student, “My dad is bigger than your dad.”  Yeah, he probably is.
    My husband just shaved off his beard.  Lorelei has never seen her dad clean shaven, Ainsley has only seen him that way once or twice.  Ainsley said that she hopes her husband never shaves off his beard.  We told her her husband might not have a beard.  She told us that all husbands should HAVE to have a beard.  Ok….

    Lorelei is now a climbing fiend.  She’s gotten the hang of it and has apparently lost all of her timidity.
    Lorelei can identify almost all of her uppercase letters.
    Lorelei was wearing her her purple pajamas and Josh told her she matched her newly painted walls.  She said, “No dad, I’m white, my pajamas are purple.”  Yes, she really said that.  She’s two.  How did she know she was white???? 
    Lorelei’s favorite thing to say right now is “Why mommy?”  I don’t think Ainsley started asking why until she was over three.  She says “Why mommy?”  about every 5 seconds.

    Now to go play those big girls of mine.
    Pictures of their newly redecorated room will be in the next post, I think.  It’s really cute.

Comments (11)

  • I had a lavender room growing up and loved it.  I know when we finally were out of the crib stage it was bitter sweet…now my baby is 5!  I can hardly believe it.  I’m glad your taking time to log your children’s accomplishments you will treasure them in just a few years.

    I love your girl’s smiles they both look so happy with their new sleeping arrangements.

  • they really do look so pleased to be together on those bunk beds!  So cute!!!

    You’ll have to include a pic of your hubby w/o his beard…some of us have never seen him without it either!  LOL!

    Alesha

  • This is such a sweet post. I grew up sharing a room with my sister for a number of years,and I loved it. Some of my best childhood memories were made whispering in the dark in our bedroom. I hope the same is true for your sweet girlies. I love the lavender that you chose, and I cannot wait to see more photos! I continue to keep you in my prayers.

  • My girls are together too in the same room and in bunk beds!  And I don’t know who loves it more, me or them.

    You know when we first put Lonna in the big girl bed and she used the bedrail like Lorelei, she bought coordinating material and made a slip cover for it, so it would go with the room decor.  I would have never though of that on my own, but it looked so cute that when we redid the room and Eden now uses the bedrail, I made a slipcover too.  It’s nice to be alble to slip it off anfd wash it with the bedding.  Just an idea to pass along if you ever care to use it.  I could send a picture along if you needed.

  • I can’t wait to see the room!

    Why no pictures of the beardless-man? I remember being shocked when he grew the beard.  I think your daughter’s opinion of husbands with facial hair SO FUNNY! Can you imagine her dismay upon arrival at BJU?   LOL!!!

    As far as knowing she is white, how did my boys know they are brown? Sweetie Pooh told me once, “Because, Mommy, I AM!”  Ok, then!  Who says children are colorblind?

    But, ironicly, my sons ARE colorblind, but that is a DIFFERENT story!

  • Aaw so cute!  The wall color is beautiful!  I can see how happy they are for their new places and it is so crazy how time flies!

  • I love the purple!  It looks wonderful, and I love the girls in their bunk beds…so cute :)   Josh always looks so young without his beard.  :)   I used to love Matt with his, but now I prefer him without it.  I hope you had a nice day today.  Love, Trish

  • Love the purple color!!! :)

  • Thanks for your “Big Girl” stories. =)  They made me smile A LOT. 

  • I like the purple color. It is so girlie!

  • You did such a good job on the girls room. I love it. It turned out beautiful.  Just what a little girl would want.  The girls are getting big….and they are so cute. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *