February 1, 2009

  • Butterflies, Flowers and Princesses… Oh My!

    The girls’ room before:


     


    These were taken before Lorelei was born, so they’re a few years old and before we put the bunk beds in the room last summer.

    After:

    I bought these wall stickies from Target that are just adorable.  They came with an alphabet set, so I put their names on the dormers.  (Ignore the wall color difference, it’s not that way in real life.)


    On this wall is a magnetic calendar and responsibility chart.  They’re both made by Melissa and Doug and are great.  The girls love earning their “circles” and remind us each night to fill it out.  It’s helped a lot with whining, sharing, making beds, setting the table and other tasks around the house.

    I found these little pink and purple cloth organizer boxes for under their bed.  I had a hard time finding ones that would be short enough to fit under there.  In these are panties, socks, undershirts, pajamas and tights.  That way little hands can find all of these necessities by themselves.

    My big girl sleeps up here now!

    Princess Lorelei is dancing on her new rug in this picture.  For you New Englanders:  the pictures, underbed organizers and little toy box in this picture all came from The Christmas Tree Shop.  I paid $1.40 for each box, $4.99 for each picture and $12.50 for the toy box.   I’m still looking for the perfect curtains.

    The aforementioned rug…  I wanted one with flowers and butterflies, they picked this one.  I gave in. $15 at Burlington Coat Factory.
     
    The big pink butterfly is actually a sticky chalkboard.  It came with all the other wall stickies.  I’m debating whether allowing them to draw with chalk on the wall is a very good idea.


    My cute little princesses.

Comments (14)

  • Adorable room with Adorable girls to go in it…love the last pix…ohhhh I miss them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

  • I love the room!  It’s a fitting room for little girls.

  • Very nice, you guys did a great job.  I love the new color, very girly.

    Kelly

  • I love it – it is a big room but looks even bigger now.  I can’t wait to see it in person.

  • oh, I love it!!!  It is so girly!  You found some great deals too. 

  • Cute princesses indeed!

  • You did such a great job with the room.  It’s just right!  What good finds you came across.  I love the Christmas Tree Store! 

  • SO FUN!!  And they are just TOO CUTE!

  • Is Ainsley wearing one of Adana’s dresses?  She HAD it at one time, but maybe it is just a look-alike …

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the room! I’m sure the girls will always remember “Mommy let us get the CASTLE RUG!”

    You are such a great mother!

  • You did a great job on the bedroom.  It’s precious!

  • RYC: I’m so glad you dropped by, Cathi! I’ve been reading and catching up with you, and I’m sorry I haven’t gotten back over here sooner! You and Josh have been in my prayers … I know that God will provide just the right job for him! My husband has no work this week–the flooring business is very slow right now, so we’re doing all we can to cut back. We’re also a one income family, along with what little bit the soap and coin shows bring in, which wouldn’t support us, if that is all we had to live on … but we are thankful for every little bit, too! So many are in the same situation, right now! It certainly can be a ‘scary’ boat to be in, but we trust, and know that the Lord is right here in that boat with us … and He won’t let us sink! I’m also praying that God will take care of those health issues that you’re dealing with. And, I had not heard about the possibility of Ainsley having eye surgery! You are dealing with a lot, and please know that your family is at the top of my prayer list! I know sometimes things get hard to bare, but know that He’s holding you all in the palm of His hand … He indeed, is a comfort to us, and the peace that comes along with that, will get us through those difficult times in our lives! Romans 8:38-39 is a comforting verse to focus on, nothing, no nothing, will ever separate us from His love!

    Every little girl’s dream … a lavender room, with a ‘princess’ rug! I love the photos! You did a wonderful job redecorating their room! I so love the color! I remember when Ian got his first set of bunk beds … I was a little concerned with him climbing up to the top bunk, but, he did quite well getting up and down that ladder! My husband even slept on the bottom bunk the first few nights with him … they talked more than they slept! We moved one of the beds to the basement as he grew … we made a place under the top bunk as a desk area for him. It was one of those sets that you could do that with … but now, his room sits empty … empty of him, that is! He seems happy out in CA, but my heart yearns for his presence here at home again. He says he’ll be home, but isn’t sure when — 2 years, 3 years …. Ah, they do grow up, and boys, especially, seem to cut those ties quicker than girls do. So, you cherish each and every moment with those two precious angels, making memories that will last a lifetime! I can see His goodness there in your life … we serve a loving Father, and you, my friend, are blessed! You have a wonderful day, and know that you are all in my prayers! <><

  • How did I miss this??!! I love what you did with the room – it is so girly and perfect! You are very creative. I love the little wall decals. And that last photo of your girls is stunning! What beauties you have. They look like little “American girl dolls”. Precious.

  • Oh, and I LOOOOVE the Christmas Tree Shop!! lol Cheap, cheap, cheap, so I can go crazy! Most of Cadi’s room came from there!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *